The Urban Education Research Collective

Wendy Luttrell 是一位致力于社会公正研究的社会学家,尤其是在教育领域。她是美国纽约州立大学研究生中心的教授。 城市教育社会学, 批判社会心理学 妇女和性别研究 项目。  她目前担任城市教育博士项目的执行官(主席)。  温迪的研究重点是性别、种族、阶级和基于性别的不平等系统如何被内化,特别是被学校环境中的边缘化学生内化。 聪明的学校和母亲的智慧。工人阶级妇女的身份和学校教育(1997年)。; 怀孕的身体,肥沃的心灵。性别、种族和怀孕青少年的学校教育(2003年)。 儿童定格童年。工人阶级儿童的关爱愿景 政策出版社,2020年)。在她的整个职业生涯中,Luttrell指导了基于社区、大学和教师的探究项目,以促进创新的研究和教学实践,以及课程开发计划。

http://www.wendyluttrell.org/

Dr. Whitney Q. Hollins is an advocate for children who have a parent involved in the justice system. As the daughter of a formerly incarcerated parent, her direct experience has led her to explore the ways these children navigate and negotiate the unique set of circumstances that incarceration presents. As a researcher and educator, she believes that teachers play a vital role insupporting children with a justice involved parent. Hollins currently works as an early childhood instructional specialist, an adjunct instructor at various CUNY colleges and a consultant at We Got Us Now. She is also a member of the Justice Across Generations SpeakersBureau through The Osborne Association. She holds a Ph.D. in Urban Education from the CUNY Graduate Center. Her dissertation focused on children who have justice involved parents with an emphasis on lived experience as expertise. She recently published a children’s bookfeaturing a character with an incarcerated parent titled Anna’s Test. 惠特尼邀请您在她的网站上与她联系 www.docwhitneyq.com

William Salomon Orellana 他是三个孩子的厄瓜多尔父亲、丈夫、社会正义教育者、摄影师、纽约州立大学四年级博士生,过去20年一直是教育家、活动家和社区组织者。   他的重点和研究领域是种族批判哲学、种族批判理论、拉丁裔家长批判、社会正义教育和城市课堂爱的教育学。 威廉在纽约州立大学新帕尔兹分校获得拉美研究学士学位,在布鲁克林大学获得特殊教育硕士学位,目前在布鲁克林威廉斯堡的El Puente和平与正义高中教授Sankofa、正义研究和历史。威廉目前正在完成一个KickStarter资助的项目。 青年领主计划在这里,前少爷们分享他们的智慧和对正义、希望和人性的渴望。  威廉是美国的一位领导人。 纽约市帮助-肖像 在这个项目中,志愿者摄影师与整个纽约市服务不足的社区分享摄影的礼物。 

Mieasia Edwards 是土生土长的纽约哈林区人,致力于通过行动、规划和政策创造可持续的、系统的和公平的变化。Mieasia以纽约市公立学校教师的身份开始了她推进教育公平的旅程。此后,她成为纽约皇后区一所小学的创校校长,并成为家乡纽约哈林区一所学校的转校校长,她的学生们表现出色。目前,她以校长教练的身份为第五社区学区的8000多名学生和家庭提供服务。Mieasia拥有北卡罗来纳大学教堂山分校政治学和非裔美国人研究的学士学位,佩斯大学教育学硕士,以及Bank Street教育学院的学校建设和地区领导力认证。Mieasia在CUNY研究生中心的城市教育项目中担任博士生,继续她的旅程,以促进教育公平,重点是转型和正义。

Kelly Brady 今年是她的第7个年头th 作为纽约市公立学校教师,目前是纽约市立大学城市教育专业的博士生。  凯利是城市学院教育戏剧硕士课程的兼职教授,并曾在纽约市戏剧俱乐部担任教学艺术家和前教育主任,该俱乐部是一个为被监禁的青少年提供戏剧培训的非营利机构。  Kelly是纽约州国际戏剧家协会的董事会成员,也是Arthur Miller基金会的成员。  她拥有佩斯大学的教育学硕士学位、埃文斯维尔大学的艺术学士学位和纽约大学的艺术硕士学位。

Nga Than 是纽约城市大学研究生中心社会学专业的博士生。她的研究兴趣是社交媒体、计算社会科学、国际移民和社会学。作为一个混合方法的学者,她使用访谈进行定性研究,并使用机器学习来分析文本数据和行政数据。她的研究曾获得德国学术交流中心(DAAD)、台湾华宇增资奖学金、CUNY-博士前奖学金、CUNY-教务长数字创新资助等支持。

José Jiménez 是A.C.E. Academy for Scholars的校长,这是一所位于纽约皇后区的公立小学。他是纽约市立大学研究生中心的城市教育博士生,他的研究重点是LGBTQ+教育工作者的种族、阶级、性别和性行为的交集,他们在教室和学校里自我暴露身份,以及对他们自己、学生和整个社区的影响。他拥有纽约大学、布鲁克林学院和Canisius学院的学位。

David R. Rosas 他从事教育工作,通过与历史上被边缘化的黑人、拉丁裔、土著、移民和/或工人阶级社区的儿童、其家庭、教师、学校工作人员和社区组织合作,通过教育实现解放。他在教育领域的工作是基于培养年轻人的批判意识和自决能力,重点是与文化相关的课程设计和开发,在课堂社区发展积极和恢复性的实践,并与家庭合作,分享基于力量的实践,以服务于他们孩子的学习。David今年是他从事教育工作的第21个年头,他曾担任过K-7年级的教师、教学教练、校长助理和小学校长。此外,他还为哥伦比亚大学银行街教育学院和教师学院的职前学校领导提供建议。他的博士工作重点是小学中的批判性种族教师变革者,因为他们利用他们对年轻的、种族化的儿童的政治化工作来瓦解白人的元素。 

Keilee Luo 是威尔康奈尔医学研究生院卫生政策与经济专业的硕士生。作为一名中国移民和第一代大学生,Keilee热衷于改善医疗服务体系的质量,提高患者的治疗效果,尤其是对服务不足的移民群体。她目前在威尔康奈尔大学人口健康科学系担任研究助理,带领一组硕士生研究COVID-19如何影响医疗补助患者中阿片类药物使用障碍的用药。这项研究的结果将在她的Capstone研究项目中发表。在空闲时间,Keilee一直在纽约市的许多非营利组织中积极做志愿者,这些组织的目标是为服务不足的社区提供社会和保健服务。

谢谢 梅隆公众参与和合作研究研讨会 为首 Kendra Sullivan 在CUNY研究生中心人文中心的项目支持。

The Urban Education Research Collective

Wendy Luttrell is a sociologist committed to social justice research, especially in the field of education. She is a Professor at the CUNY-Graduate Center in the Urban EducationSociology, Critical Social Psychology and Women and Gender Studies programs.  She current serves as the Executive Officer (Chair) of the Ph.D. Program in Urban Education.  Wendy’s research focuses how gender, race, class and sexuality-based systems of inequality get internalized, especially by marginalized students in school settings  She is the author of three books on this topic, School-smart and Mother-wise: Working-Class Women’s Identity and Schooling (1997); Pregnant Bodies, Fertile Minds: Gender, Race and the Schooling of Pregnant Teens (2003) and Children Framing Childhoods: Working-class Kids’ Visions of Care (Policy Press, 2020). Throughout her career, Luttrell has directed community-based, university, and teacher inquiry projects that promote innovative research and teaching practices, as well as curriculum development initiatives.

http://www.wendyluttrell.org/

Dr. Whitney Q. Hollins is an advocate for children who have a parent involved in the justice system. As the daughter of a formerly incarcerated parent, her direct experience has led her to explore the ways these children navigate and negotiate the unique set of circumstances that incarceration presents. As a researcher and educator, she believes that teachers play a vital role insupporting children with a justice involved parent. Hollins currently works as an early childhood instructional specialist, an adjunct instructor at various CUNY colleges and a consultant at We Got Us Now. She is also a member of the Justice Across Generations SpeakersBureau through The Osborne Association. She holds a Ph.D. in Urban Education from the CUNY Graduate Center. Her dissertation focused on children who have justice involved parents with an emphasis on lived experience as expertise. She recently published a children’s bookfeaturing a character with an incarcerated parent titled Anna’s Test. Whitney invites you to connect with her on her website www.docwhitneyq.com

William Salomon Orellana is an Ecuadorian father of three, husband, social justice educator, photographer, 4th year doctoral student at CUNY, and an educator, activist and community organizer for the past 20 years.   His areas of focus and research are in Critical Philosophy of Race, Critical Race Theory, Critical Latino Parenting, Social Justice education and Pedagogies of Love in Urban Classrooms. William received his B. A. in Latin American Studies from SUNY-New Paltz and his M.S. ED in Special Education from LIU-Brooklyn, and he currently teaches Sankofa, Justice studies and history at the El Puente Academy for Peace and Justice High School in Williamsburg Brooklyn. William is currently finalizing a KickStarter funded Young Lords Project, where former Young Lords share their wisdom and longings for justice, hope and humanity.  William is a leader in the NYC Help-Portrait project, where volunteer photographers share the gift of photography with underserved communities throughout NYC. 

Mieasia Edwards is a native of Harlem, NY committed to creating sustainable, systemic and equitable change through action, planning and policy. Mieasia began her journey to advance educational equity as a New York City public school teacher. Thereafter, her students excelled when she became the founding principal of an elementary school in Queens, NY, and a school-turnaround principal in her hometown, Harlem, NY. She presently serves more than 8,000 students and families in Community School District 5 as a principal coach. Mieasia holds a B.A. in Political Science and African-American Studies from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, a M.s.Ed. in Teaching from Pace University, and School Building and District Leadership certifications from Bank Street College of Education. Mieasia is continuing her journey to advance educational equity with a focus on transformation and justice as a PhD student at The Graduate Center, CUNY in the Urban Education program.

Kelly Brady is in her  7th year as an NYC public school teacher, and currently a PhD student in Urban Education at CUNY.  Kelly is an adjunct professor at City College in their MA in Educational Theatre program, and has served as a teaching artist and former Director of Education with Drama Club, NYC, a non-profit providing theatre training to incarcerated youth.  Kelly is a board member of the New York State International Thespians Society, and is an Arthur Miller Foundation Fellow.  She holds an MsEd from Pace University, a BFA from the University of Evansville, and an MFA from NYU.

Nga Than is a PhD student in sociology at City University of New York – The Graduate Center. Her research interests are in social media, computational social science, international migration, and sociology. As a mixed-methods scholar, she has conducted qualitative research using interviewing, as well as employing machine learning to analyze text data, and administrative data. Her research has received support from the German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD), Taiwan’s Huayu Enrichment Scholarship, CUNY – Pre-dissertation Fellowship, and CUNY – Provost’s Digital Innovation Grant.

José Jiménez is the Principal of A.C.E. Academy for Scholars, a public elementary school in Queens, New York. He is an Urban Education Ph.D. student at the CUNY Graduate Center where his research focuses on the intersections of race, class, gender and sexuality of LGBTQ+ educators who self-disclose their identities in their classrooms and schools and the impact it has on themselves, their students, and their communities at-large. He has degrees from New York University, Brooklyn College and Canisius College.

David R. Rosas works in education to bring about liberation through education by partnering with children, their families, teachers, school-based staff members, and community organizations in historically marginalized communities of Black, Latinx, Indigenous, immigrant, and/or working-class folks. His work in education is based on fostering critical consciousness and self-determination with young people by focusing on culturally-relevant curriculum design and development, developing positive and restorative practices in classroom communities, and partnering with families to share strengths-based practices in service of their children’s learning. David is in his 21st year as an educator and has worked as a teacher in grades K-7, an instructional coach, assistant principal, and principal in elementary schools. Additionally, he advises pre-service school leaders at Bank Street College of Education and Teachers College, Columbia University. His doctoral work focuses on critical-race teacher change agents in elementary schools as they leverage their politicized work with young, racialized children to dismantle elements of whiteness. 

Keilee Luo is a master’s student in Health Policy and Economics at Weill Cornell Graduate School of Medical Sciences. As a Chinese immigrant and a first-generation college student, Keilee is passionate about improving the quality of the health care delivery system and enhancing patient outcomes particularly for underserved immigrant populations. She currently works as Research Assistant at the Department of Population Health Sciences at Weill Cornell, where she leads a group of master’s students to study how COVID-19 has affected the medication use of opioid use disorder among Medicaid patients. The results of this study will be published in her Capstone research project. In her free time, Keilee has been actively volunteering at many non-for-profit organizations in New York City, whose goals are to provide social and health-care services for underserved communities.

Thanks to the Mellon Seminar for Public Engagement and Collaborative Research led by Kendra Sullivan at the Center for the Humanities at the CUNY Graduate Center for project support.